Cherry Mobile Amber– Is this 2,999-Peso Smartphone Ideal For Filipino Masses?

Techtektek – Getting away with technology

Redefining Philippine digital technology

Cherry Mobile Amber– Is this 2,999-Peso Smartphone Ideal For Filipino Masses?

Posted on | November 22, 2013 | 10 Comments

Smartphones are too darn expensive, not if you’ll get it from Cherry Mobile. CM is a known provider of quality phones in a very cheap price. That is why it is not surprising to hear that it released a smartphone with a Php 2,999 price tag (Cherry Mobile Amber).

Cherry Mobile Amber Specs

It is a Dual Sim – Dual Standby smartphone with a 4” capacitive touch-screen display that is running on an Android 4.2 Jelly Bean operating system. It has a 1.2Ghz Dual Core processor plus a 512mb of RAM. It has a 4GB internal memory with a card slot upgradable to 32GB. It has a 5.0MP with LED flash back camera and a 0.3MP front cam. It can connect to the Internet using its WiFi feature, and it also has a GPS and Bluetooth. It is powered by a 1,400mah battery, and has a selling price of 2,999 pesos.

Design

Although Amber is for sale at a very low price, CM did not fail on producing it with a sleek design. Therefore, the design of Amber is ok for me. However, I think the black version looks better than the white one.

Screen Size

I have no issues with the screen size, as I think that a 4” smartphone is an ideal size so you won’t have any hassles of carrying it with you, or putting it in your pocket.

Screen Resolution

By the way, the resolution of Amber is 480 x 800 pixels. Based on this information, it is very clear that it’s not a high-def android gadget. That is why expect for it to be somehow blurry especially when the screen gets directly hit by sunlight.

Speed

I think a 1.2Ghz Dual Core processor is unfitted to run with a 4.2 Jelly Bean operating system. For me, it is best that a smartphone with a 4.2 jelly bean OS should at least have a 2.0Ghz DualCore or a Quad Core procie.

In addition, aside from the procie, another drawback of this smartphone is its RAM. I doubt it if a 512mb of RAM can handle the intense pressure given by the latest apps. That is why if you intend to use this android device to access heavy programs/applications, forget about it as you will only experience frequent lags.

Storage Capacity

I have no problems with the provided internal storage capacity of this android phone. I also like its card slot feature which is upgradable to 32GB. This just gives the user enough room to store GBs of files.

Camera

I did not expect that CM would release an affordable smartphone with such excellent rear camera. A 5.0MP with LED flash back camera is indeed a win-win feature that is included in the Amber package.

I would give a 2 thumbs-up score with Amber’s rear cam. But, the front cam is a disgrace. I mean, a 0.3MP front camera is clearly unreliable in terms of getting high quality images.

Internet Connectivity

Yes, Amber can connect through the WEB using a WiFi connection, but do not expect for a speedy connectivity as this smartphone do not have that capability. Anyways, with its cheap price, I guess it is still a huge plus that you can browse the Internet with this device.

Power Supply

I can accept the drawbacks of this smartphone except for its battery. The power source of Amber is definitely too low. Also, I do not have a concrete information regarding whether the battery of Amber is removable or not. However, if incase the battery is removable, then I guess the user must buy an extra battery with a higher mah (a 2,500mah is enough). But if the battery is non-removable, then please do purchase a powerbank if you intend to get this Android gadget.

Price

There is no doubt that those individuals who are on a budget like me totally loves the given price of Amber. Well, you cannot always get a quality smartphone with a 5.0MP LED flash cam in less than 3,000 pesos these days.

As for my conclusion, the Cherry Mobile Amber is a smartphone that is worth buying if you are not going to use this to access heavy softwares like the latest apps, or if you value some of its great features like its rear camera, internal storage with card slot, and operating system.

Conclusion

Cherry mobile has once again proved its trademark to be a provider of superb gadgets in very affordable prices with its release of the Amber smartphone. I can see it online that not all reviewers are talking about this smartphone for the masses.

But I beg to differ, and I purposely review this android phone as the majority of the Filipinos are spending on a budget such as me. Anyways, like what I said, Amber is not a perfect smartphone, that is why it is not fitted to all types of users. My recommendation would be to only buy this gadget if you can accept and live with its drawbacks such as its bad front cam capacity, too low battery life and slow Internet connectivity. If you think you can handle these negative aspects of Amber, then go ahead and
get this smartphone at the nearest CM store.

Availability

Cherry Mobile Amber is now available on all CM outlets nationwide.

View more Cherry Mobile phones here.

For more CM phone reviews click this link.

{This article is written by KC Crodua, a computer technician and smartphone enthusiast. He is a contributor and correspondent for Techtektek.

More articles by KC Crodua:
Cherry Mobile Cosmoz Versus Cosmos S
Cherry Mobile Cosmos Z Review
Cherry Mobile Cosmos S Review 
Reputable Websites to Download Race Games for Free
Cloudfone Thrill Collection Review and Specs
Starmobile Diamond Smartphones Specs: a Review
Cherry Mobile Price List
iPhone 5S Features}

{Image source}

If you want to know how to root your Cherry Mobile Amber, just click the link below:

http://www.techtektek.com/how-tos/how-to-root-your-cherry-mobile-amber/

Searches: cherry mobile amber, cherry mobile worth 3000 pesos, myphone price 3 000, android phones below 3000 pesos, android phones below 3000 php, android phones worth p3000, affordable cheap smartphones in the philippines atleast 2500 pesos, cherry mobile sale philippines2016, cherry mobile amber battery 3k mah buy, Smartphone 3000pesos
Profile photo of Nonoy
Follow Nonoy

Nonoy

Editor-in-Chief at Techtektek
A frustrated techie who once loved the concept of cartridge cassette tapes and analogue cellphones, he advances to what the future holds in the world of digital technology.

He still manages to sing at night with his rock band The Happiest despite his geekery on the World Wide Web.
Profile photo of Nonoy
Follow Nonoy

Comments

10 Responses to “Cherry Mobile Amber– Is this 2,999-Peso Smartphone Ideal For Filipino Masses?”

  1. ZZ
    December 1st, 2013 @ 4:12 pm

    sure kayo na out na yan nationwide?

    autofocus dn b ang 5mp na cam nyan or ktulad din ng CM Life na FF?

  2. Khian
    December 1st, 2013 @ 9:17 pm

    SRSLY, are you a techie? Did you ever think first before doing this? So many flaws. Tssss

  3. alex
    December 11th, 2013 @ 11:32 am

    much better to review w/hands on..hmm which rear cam is better amber or life

  4. lalala
    December 16th, 2013 @ 8:42 pm

    Really? 2.0Ghz to run Jellybean OS? Note that the GS4 and HTC One are clocked at 1.9Ghz and 1.7Ghz respectively and they are considered mid 2013 Flagships (Practically no lag). No even better GNexus4, GS3, HTC One X, Note 2, all these can run Jelly Bean PERFECTLY but neither of these 2012 flagships surpassed 2.0Ghz clock speed…

    I have this phone, and yes 1.2Ghz dual core MAY SEEM inadequate for today’s standards, but take note that the GS2 (2011 flagship) was a dual core and it ran pretty well. Also sure that has a JB update… And I can vouch that these specs are sufficient to run these phone smoothly to some extent (Due to JB’s Project Butter). Wag lang sobrahan sa apps 512mb lang kasi ang RAM.

    And contrary the 5mp camera is an underperformer IMO even if it is 5mp. No autofocus, well Im not expecting one for a 3k phone anyway :D. For me this looks better than the CM Life though.

  5. wew
    December 21st, 2013 @ 7:23 am

    Walang kwentang review!

  6. wertzph
    December 25th, 2013 @ 9:28 pm

    was to comment about the review, but i guess what i wanted to say are already posted. in other words, WEAK review, probably not a techie.

  7. airborne
    January 12th, 2014 @ 9:52 am

    Those who wants to ROOT their CM Amber, the instructions is below.

    Instructions on rooting Cherry Mobile Amber:

    1. Download Framaroot 1.6.0 apk
    -Save to your device and enable “Unknown Resources” then Install
    downloadlink: upfile.mobi/185377

    2. Open Framaroot on your Device…

    3. Select and Install SuperSu and choose Boromir… Don’t Select Superuser(won’t work) i tried..

    4. after Selecting Boromir, there will be a message that indicates that your phone is now rooted,,… reboot your phone and open SuperSu to enable… Your Cherry Mobile Amber is now rooted… I hope this helps!

    for questions just email me: [email protected]

  8. DumDum Duggan
    January 30th, 2014 @ 2:13 pm

    I was hoping for even the slightest level of intelligence in this review. Instead, I read a tremendously mediocre rabble.

    These are the type of bloggers being sent to press conferences in the Philippines? Goodness, even with technology young people now fail to write appropriately!

    Somebody should tell the PR firms to stop inviting bloggers who can’t even write (and ask questions) correctly.

  9. Sure that this is a review?
    February 3rd, 2014 @ 1:20 pm

    or just a collection of your thoughts about the specs-sheet?

  10. erwin
    May 27th, 2014 @ 3:59 am

    mas maganda ang Ruby.. tested nah…

Leave a Reply





  • Subscribe to get news updates

    Enter your email address:

    Delivered by FeedBurner

  • RSS Technology – Google News

    • Volkswagen presents new variants - Business Mirror February 11, 2016
      Volkswagen presents new variantsBusiness MirrorVOLKSWAGEN Philippines treated members of the motoring media to a night of music, fun, laughter, unlimited helpings of German sausages (actually, just one of the many courses prepared for us) with bottles of famous German lagers on January 22.Just JettaThe Standardall 2 news articles »
    • Google Finally Expands Europe's Search Delisting To Google.com Domain - TechCrunch February 11, 2016
      TechCrunchGoogle Finally Expands Europe's Search Delisting To Google.com DomainTechCrunchIt's taken well over a year for Google to shift its position but the search giant is finally buckling to European data protection regulators' demands to apply granted search delisting requests on the Google.com domain, as well as European subdomains as ...Google to extend 'right to be […]
    • Lumia 550 now available in the Philippines - Sun.Star February 11, 2016
      RapplerLumia 550 now available in the PhilippinesSun.StarMICROSOFT today announced the availability of the Lumia 550 in the Philippines for only PHP6490[1]. The newest smartphone to join the Lumia family, the Lumia 550 is our most affordable 4G LTE smartphone with Windows 10, signature Microsoft apps and ...Microsoft's Lumia 550 launches in PHRapplerMicrosoft Corporation Working On A […]
    • Lego Arm for Disabled Kids Wins Digital Innovation Prize - NDTV February 11, 2016
      NDTVLego Arm for Disabled Kids Wins Digital Innovation PrizeNDTVA prosthetic arm made of Lego that disabled children can customise to their own needs won the grand prize at the Netexplo forum for digital technology in Paris on Wednesday. The IKO Creative Prosthetic System, created by Colombian designer Carlos ...Lego arm lets children customise prostheticsTelegraph.co.ukall 17 news […]
    • Qualcomm's new chips include a Snapdragon that powers next-gen wearables - VentureBeat February 11, 2016
      VentureBeatQualcomm's new chips include a Snapdragon that powers next-gen wearablesVentureBeatQualcomm decided to have a chip party today, and here's the one with the salsa: a new Snapdragon Wear Platform that will power the next generation of wearables. The world's biggest mobile chipmaker also launched a new modem for faster data networking ...Qualcomm brings LTE connectivity to […]
    • Tech update: Yahoo sacks staff; Google software is car 'driver'; RIP Twitter? - Emirates 24|7 February 11, 2016
      Emirates 24|7Tech update: Yahoo sacks staff; Google software is car 'driver'; RIP Twitter?Emirates 24|7Yahoo Inc. announced Wednesday it will lay off 107 employees in the first of what is expected to be more than 1,500 job cuts. The layoffs take effect April 11 and affected employees received 60-day advance notice of the move, Yahoo said […]
    • Taking on big telecom: Here's how the net neutrality fight was won, but the battle's not over yet - Economic Times February 11, 2016
      IBNLiveTaking on big telecom: Here's how the net neutrality fight was won, but the battle's not over yetEconomic TimesBy Derek O'Brien A few days ago, the Telecom Regulatory Authority of India (Trai) formally rejected Facebook's 'Free Basics' scheme. But if anybody believes that the battle is over and the issue is settled, she is clearly […]
    • Ford is rolling out 4 new SUVs - Businessinsider India February 11, 2016
      Businessinsider IndiaFord is rolling out 4 new SUVsBusinessinsider IndiaFord is preparing to introduce four new SUVs, according to sources familiar with the company's plans. The automaker will design and develop a quartet of new models that are intended to attack segments in which Ford currently lacks products. The current ...Ford to add 4 new SUV nameplates […]
    • The GTC4Lusso is Ferrari's FF grand-tourer successor - Autofocus February 10, 2016
      AutofocusThe GTC4Lusso is Ferrari's FF grand-tourer successorAutofocusFerrari unveiled its GTC4Lusso four-seat grand tourer February 8, a V12-powered successor to its FF shooting brake which features, for the first time, rear-wheel steering and four-wheel-drive. The Italian supercar builder says that, like the FF, the ...Ferrari GTC4Lusso Drops Its Top In New RenderingCarscoops (blog)This baby's in black […]
    • Hearthstone hit by malware, 1 in 10 teens know a cybercriminal - security roundup - PCR-online.biz February 10, 2016
      PCR-online.bizHearthstone hit by malware, 1 in 10 teens know a cybercriminal - security roundupPCR-online.bizAccording to new Symantec research, attackers have disguised information-stealing malware as third-party add-ons and cheats for the online card game Hearthstone on PC. Hearthstone players looking to gain an unfair advantage often turn online for tools ...Adwind: Malware-as-a-Service Platform that Hit more […]
  • Categories

  • Recent Queries

  • Shares
    Skip to toolbar
    Shares